Nevada Drivers Ed

What do I bring to the DMV for my permit?

You’ll need to bring these items to the DMV to get your permit:

  • $23.25 for the licensing fee
  • $26 for the testing fee (covers both your written test and driving test)
  • 1 Proof of Identity
    • Original or certified copy of your state-issued birth certificate
    • Valid and unexpired United States Passport or Passport Card
    • Out-of-state instruction permit or ID card compliant with the Real ID Act of 2005
    • Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization
    • Permanent Resident Card
    • See more examples here.
  • 1 Proof of Social Security Number
    • For most teens, bringing an original Social Security card will meet this requirement.
    • If you’re employed, you can bring a W-2, IRS Form 1099, or a paystub that shows your complete Social Security Number.
  • 2 Proofs of Nevada Residency
    • Form DMV 005 – Certification of Nevada Residency
      • Since like most teens, you don’t have a way to prove your residency, your parent/guardian will sign this form and show their own proofs of residency to the DMV on your behalf.
      • The form lists what items your parent/guardian will need to bring to prove their Nevada residency.
  • Form DP-38 – Minor Affidavit and Information Sheet
    • Your parent/guardian need to be with you to sign this form.
  • Form DMV 301 – Certification of Attendance
    • This has to be signed by a school administrator to prove that you are currently enrolled and have good attendance in school.
    • If you are homeschooled, simply bring the receipt provided by your school district when you submitted your “Notice of Intent to Homeschool” (NOI form) to them. You do not need to fill out the Certification of Attendance. (Nevada Homeschool Network)
  • Form DMV 002 – Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card
    • Your parent/guardian need to be with you to sign the Financial Responsibility section of this form.

Couldn’t Find the Answer You Were Searching For?

Did this answer your question?

EXTREMELY HIGH SUMMER VOLUMES WITH COVID - Starting in June and expecting to continue through September, we are experiencing extremely high volumes across chats, phones and email. We have limited phone and chat support hours, and are working hard to serve every student with care. Phone wait times can be up to 30 minutes during peak times, and while we respond to every student contact that we receive, we are currently averaging 2-3 business days to respond. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this unprecedented time. For all Coronavirus Impact Updates, please click here.