Oklahoma Drivers Ed

How do I complete the required behind-the-wheel driving hours?

  • You must complete 55 hours, 10 of which are at night, with your parent instructor(s). You will need to log those hours in our Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log. We also provide a curriculum you can use as a lesson plan for your driving lessons. This is called the Behind-the-Wheel Curriculum, and you can find it here.
  • You must carry your permit with you at all times while doing behind-the-wheel instruction or practice.
  • Vehicle must:
    • Be properly registered and display a valid license plate.
    • Must comply with vehicle equipment and safety standards, including but not limited to being equipped with seatbelts.
    • Must comply with vehicle liability requirements of Oklahoma’s compulsory insurance law.  Current proof-of-insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times.
    • May be equipped with a 2nd rearview mirror for use by parent performing instruction.  Department recommends use of 2nd rearview mirror by the parent.
  • Your permit also carries its own restrictions, whether completing behind-the-wheel instruction or driving practice:
    • You may only have 2 parent instructors and not more than 2 students in the vehicle with you while driving.
    • You must be accompanied by a licensed adult over the age of 21, who has held their license for at least 2 years.
    • You may only drive between the hours of 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

 


Couldn’t Find the Answer You Were Searching For?


Did this answer your question?