Want to get your Alabama driver’s license? Aceable’s Alabama Permit Test Prep can help you ace the permit exam. This drivers ed course will teach you the rules of the road whenever and wherever you want. You’ll get 20 levels of interactive lessons and unlimited practice tests designed to prepare you for the Alabama written knowledge exam.
Important: Drivers ed is NOT a requirement for getting an Alabama license. Applicants under the age of 18 must either complete an SDE-approved course OR have a parent certify that they completed 30 hours of supervised driving. Aceable’s Alabama Permit Test Prep is a mobile study aid. It’s the perfect course for busy adults and a great study tool for teens.
HOW TO GET YOUR ALABAMA DRIVER’S LICENSE ( AGES 15-17)
- Enroll in a state-approved drivers ed course if you choose to do so. You can skip this step if you want to do 30 certified hours of driving practice instead.
- Take a vision test and written knowledge test at your local DPS (Department of Public Safety) office. You’ll need to bring original or certified copies of your U.S. birth certificate and Social Security card, and proof of school enrollment or graduation. Find examples of acceptable documents here.
- Receive your Learner License at your DPS office. The fee is $5 for testing and $36.25 for the license.
- Carry your Learner License for six months while you get behind-the-wheel practice with your parent or other licensed adult who is 21 or older. If you chose to practice for 30 hours instead of taking an official drivers ed course, your parent or guardian must sign a verification form from the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.
- Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test to get your Restricted Driver License. If you’re 16 years old, you’ll need to bring your parent or guardian. Contact the DPS office by phone or online beforehand to schedule an appointment. Remember to bring your own insured vehicle for the test.
- Curfews and passenger restrictions placed on your Restricted Driver License will be removed when you turn 18. You can also apply for an unrestricted license at age 17 as long as you’ve held your restricted license for at least six months. Congrats!
HOW TO GET YOUR ALABAMA DRIVER’S LICENSE (AGE 18 AND UP)
- Pass a vision test and knowledge test at your local DPS office. Bring your Social Security card and at least 2 forms of ID. Find examples of acceptable documents here. You’ll also have to pay a $5 testing fee and $36.25 license fee to the DPS. If you’re 18 years old, you will also submit proof that you’re enrolled in school or have already graduated.
- Pass your road test. You’ll need to have a licensed driver with you and an insured vehicle that will pass inspection.
- Receive your driver license. Freedom!
Couldn’t Find the Answer You Were Searching For?