Florida TLSAE

TABLE OF CONTENTS
INTRODUCTION TO FLORIDA TLSAE

Welcome to Aceable’s Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course, aka TLSAE! Skip the boring classes. Instead, work on your drivers ed requirement on your computer, tablet, or phone. We’ll have you behind-the-wheel in no time!

You can take this course if:

  • You are a first-time driver license applicant.
  • You are under 21 years old and need to reinstate your license after a DUI suspension.

You should take this course because:

  • Aceable is approved by the state of Florida.
  • Aceable is all about convenience. You can log into your account on our website or by downloading the free Aceable Drivers Ed app for iOS and Android devices. You can switch between devices anytime and anywhere you want.
  • Aceable includes 4 hours of engaging and entertaining content written in an easy way for students to understand. Your course will include text, videos, pictures, memes, and pop-up questions galore! You won’t just be reading for 4 hours straight.
  • Aceable gives you access to unlimited free practice tests to ensure your success.
  • Aceable offers the written knowledge exam to teens, so you don’t have to take it at the DMV.
  • Aceable will file your completion information with the state of Florida. You can go to the DMV and get your permit or license without a paper certificate.
  • Aceable allows parents to track student progress and test scores, so you’re never out of the loop.
  • Aceable’s Customer Experience Heroes are available every day of the week to help answer your questions about anything and everything drivers ed. You can reach us by phone, email, and live chat.

Back to top

STEPS TO GETTING YOUR FLORIDA LICENSE
Step 1: Take Aceable’s Florida TLSAE Course

The state of Florida requires you to take the TLSAE course if:

  • You’ve never had a regular driver license in any state or country.
  • You’re under 21 years old and get your license suspended for DUI (BAL of .02 to .05%). You must complete a TLSAE course in order to reinstate your license on a hardship basis.

Aceable is all about convenience. You can access your course from multiple devices- including your desktop, laptop, phone, and tablet- and you can log on and off whenever you want. While there are timers in the course, they’re set at a pace much faster than the speed that most people read. You won’t even notice them! The course also never expires, so you don’t have to worry about any deadlines— Aceable works around your schedule.

When you’re finished with the four-hour course (12 levels), we’ll send your completion information to the DMV. We’ll email you to let you when you can head down to your local Driver License Office to get your permit or license. You will not receive a paper or digital copy of your certificate.

Back to top

Step 2: Take the Florida Knowledge Exam

Aceable is approved as a third-party test provider by the Florida DMV. If you are 14-17 years old and want to take your written knowledge exam with Aceable – instead of taking it at the Driver License Office – you can purchase the exam through Aceable. You have the option to purchase just the course, just the knowledge exam, or both as a bundle.

Students taking the knowledge exam online with Aceable will need to:

  • Answer 50 questions in 60 minutes
  • Score at least an 80% (40 out of 50 questions correct).
  • Pass all security questions.

Florida state law requires that you purchase the knowledge exam again if you fail the exam, fail a security question, or don’t complete the exam in 60 minutes.

You have up to three chances to take the exam online. After that, the state of Florida requires that you take the exam at the Driver License Office in person.

When you pass the written knowledge exam with Aceable, your results are sent electronically to the Florida DMV through a third-party test provider. Your results should be reflected in the system within two days.

Sometimes, the Florida Driver License Office will randomly select students who have already completed the written knowledge exam online and have come to get their permit to take the exam again in person. If this happens to you, contact us and we can issue you a refund for the written knowledge exam purchase.

If you don’t want to take the written knowledge exam with Aceable, you can take it at the Driver License Office (we recommend that you make an appointment beforehand). You can retake the exam at the Driver License Office if you fail it the first time around, but it will cost another $10 – and another appointment – to retake it there.

*If you’re 18 years old or older, Florida requires that you take the written knowledge exam at the Driver License Office. You CANNOT take the written knowledge exam online with Aceable.

Back to top

Step 3: Get Your Florida Permit

Head to the Driver License Office with all of your documents. Before you get your permit, you’ll need to take the vision and hearing tests (and written knowledge exam, if you didn’t already take it with Aceable).

There’ll be a $48 licensing fee, which covers both your permit and license.

Once you have your permit, you can start on your behind-the-wheel practice hours.

Note: Adults, you aren’t required to get a permit. You can either get a permit or skip ahead and get your license.

Back to top

Step 4: Complete Behind-the-Wheel with Florida TLSAE

If you’re 18 years old or older,  you do not need to complete the behind-the-wheel hours. You can skip ahead and get your license.

If you’re a teen under 18 years old and have your permit, you’ll need to complete the behind-the-wheel hours.

You can practice driving with any licensed adult who is at least 21 years old or older. You’ll need to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, 10 of these hours must be done at night. There are no restrictions in terms of the number of hours you can do per day.

If you want, you can do your behind-the-wheel hours with a driving school instead of your parent. You can find a list of state-approved professional driving schools here.

Note: You can only drive during certain times of the day depending on how long you’ve had your permit.

  • First 3 months: during daylight only
  • After 3 months: 6am to 10pm

To get your license, you’ll need to hold your permit for at least 12 months without any convictions or until you’re 18 years old, whichever happens first.

Even if you complete the 50 behind-the-wheel hours before the 12 months period is up, you do still have to wait the entire 12 months.

You don’t need to fill out a driving log. However, if you wanted to track the required 50 hours, you can simply download the driving log here.

Back to top

Step 5: Get Your Florida License

To schedule your driving test, click here. Please note that the DMV can book up very quickly, especially during high-volume seasons like the summer and during spring break. You should schedule your driving test as far in advance as possible.

As an adult 18 years old or older, you can get your Florida license right after you’ve completed the four-hour Aceable TLSAE course and we’ve sent your completion information to the Florida DMV. You’ll need to do the vision test, the hearing test, the written knowledge exam, and the driving skills test at the Driver License Office.

For teens under 18 years old, you can get your license if:

  1. You’re at least 16 years old.
  2. You’ve completed the 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice (10 of which must be at night).
  3. You’ve held your permit for at least 12 months without any convictions.

To learn more about what you need to bring with you, click here. Aceable has also created this checklist to help you prepare for your driving skills test.

After you finish your driving skills test, the Driver License Office examiner will explain any mistakes you may have made. If you fail, you’ll be asked to study or practice before returning for a retake. You can retake the test the next day, but it does cost $20 for each retake.

Florida driving hours are based on age:

  • 16 years old: 6am to 11pm
  • 17 years old: 5am to 1am
  • 18 years old and up: no restrictions

Back to top

TESTS IN FLORIDA TLSAE THE COURSE
Florida TLSAE Level Assessments

There are 12 levels in the course. At the end of each level is a level assessment consisting of 10 questions. The questions will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 80% or better (at least 8 out of 10 questions correct) in order to pass and go on to the next level.

If you fail a level assessment, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take a level assessment and you don’t have to pay again to take a level assessment more than once.

Back to top

Florida TLSAE Final Exam

After you complete Level 12 and the Level 12 Assessment, you’ll take the final course exam. The exam has 40 questions and you must score at least 80% or better (at least 32 out of 40 questions correct) in order to pass.

If you fail the final exam, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take the final exam and you don’t have to pay again to take it more than once.

After you pass the final exam, we’ll let the Florida DMV know you’ve completed the TLSAE course and they’ll put you in their system.

Back to top

Florida Written Knowledge Exam

In addition to the Aceable Final Exam, students need to take the Florida Written Knowledge Exam to obtain their permit and license. While the Aceable Final Exam proves to the state that you’ve successfully completed and passed our four-hour course, the Written Knowledge Exam is an additional testing requirement by the state of Florida.

If you are 14-17 years old and want to take your written knowledge exam with Aceable – instead of taking it at the Driver License Office – you can purchase the exam through Aceable. You have the option to purchase just the course, just the knowledge exam, or both as a bundle.

Students taking the knowledge exam online with Aceable will need to:

  • Answer 50 questions in 60 minutes
  • Score at least an 80% (40 out of 50 questions correct).
  • Pass all security questions.

Florida state law requires that you purchase the knowledge exam again if you fail the exam, fail a security question, or don’t complete the exam in 60 minutes.

You have up to three chances to take the exam online. After that, the state of Florida requires that you take the exam at the Driver License Office in person.

When you pass the written knowledge exam with Aceable, your results are sent electronically to the Florida DMV through a third-party test provider. Your results should be reflected in the system within two days.

Sometimes, the Florida Driver License Office will randomly select students who have already completed the written knowledge exam online and have come to get their permit to take the exam again in person. If this happens to you, contact us and we can issue you a refund for the written knowledge exam purchase.

If you don’t want to take the written knowledge exam with Aceable, you can take it at the Driver License Office (we recommend that you make an appointment beforehand). You can retake the exam at the Driver License Office if you fail it the first time around, but it will cost another $10 – and another appointment – to retake it there.

*If you’re 18 years old or older, Florida requires that you take the written knowledge exam at the Driver License Office. You CANNOT take the written knowledge exam online with Aceable.

Back to top

FLORIDA TLSAE CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION

You won’t receive a paper or digital certificate from Aceable. Instead, we’ll send your completion information to the Florida DMV once you finish the course. Your information gets processed automatically, and we’ll email you when you’re eligible to get your permit or license at your local Driver License Office. You do not need to present a certificate at the Driver License Office.

Back to top

AT THE FLORIDA DMV – DOCUMENTS, STATE FEES, AND TESTS
Florida TLSAE Permit – What to Bring to the DMV

You must be at least 15 years old to get your Florida permit.*

*If you’re an adult (at least 18 years old or older), you aren’t required to get a permit. You can either get a permit or skip ahead and get your license. Click here to see a list of what you need to bring to the DMV and what tests you’ll take.

Here are the essentials to bring with you when you get your permit:

Proof of Identification

  • Birth certificate (or a certified copy issued by state you were born in) or United States Passport

Proof of Social Security Number

  • Original social security card or your W-2 showing your SSN

Proof of Residential Address

  • Home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.
  • Non-US Citizens must present proof of legal presence

Parental Consent Form – You can print this out here.

  • If you’re under 18 years old and are unmarried, one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Stepparents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you. You must sign this at the DMV.

Parent Proctoring of Online Driver License Testing by a Minor – You can print this out here.

  • You only need this form if you are 14-17 years old and took the Knowledge Exam online with Aceable (for an additional purchase).

Other

  • $48 licensing fee (covers both the permit and the license)

For a more personalized checklist, check our Florida DMV’s resource: GatherGoGet.com

If you’re a teen (15-17 years old) going in for your permit, you’ll need to take two tests: the vision test and the hearing test. You’ll also need to take the written knowledge exam if you haven’t already taken it with Aceable. To learn more about taking the written knowledge exam with Aceable, click here.

If you’ve taken the written knowledge exam with Aceable, you don’t need to make an appointment to get your permit. If you haven’t taken the written knowledge exam with Aceable, you’ll need to schedule an appointment here.

If you’re 18 years old or older, Florida requires that you take the written knowledge exam at the Driver License Office. You CANNOT take the written knowledge exam online with Aceable.

Back to top

Florida TLSAE License – What to Bring to the DMV

You must be at least 16 years old to get your Florida license. Here are the essentials to bring with you:

Proof of Identification

  • Birth certificate (or a certified copy issued by state you were born in) or United States Passport

Proof of Social Security Number

  • Original social security card or your W-2 showing your SSN

Proof of Residential Address

  • Home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.
  • Non-US Citizens must present proof of legal presence

Parental Consent Form – You’ll only need this form if you’re a teen under 18 years old. You can print this out here.

  • If you’re under 18 years old and are unmarried, one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Stepparents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you. You must sign this at the DMV.

Other

  • A vehicle for the driving test- You have to be accompanied by a licensed driver if you don’t have a valid license. If you need an interpreter, you can bring one for the test, but there can be no other passengers in the car.
  • Adults- $48 licensing fee (if you are a teen under 18 years old, you already paid this fee when you applied for your permit).
  • Teens under 18 years old- your Florida permit

For a more personalized checklist, check our Florida DMV’s resource: GatherGoGet.com

If you’re a teen under 18 years old, you’ll take the driving skills test.

If you’re an adult 18 years old or older, you’ll have to take all four tests in this one trip: the vision test, the hearing test, the written knowledge exam*, and the driving skills test.

*If you’re 18 years old or older, Florida requires that you take the written knowledge exam at the Driver License Office. You CANNOT take the written knowledge exam online with Aceable.

To schedule your driving test, click herePlease note that the DMV can book up very quickly, especially during high-volume seasons like the summer and during spring break. You should schedule your driving test as far in advance as possible.

Aceable has created this checklist to help you prepare for your driving skills skills.

After you finish your driving skills test, the Driver License Office examiner will explain any mistakes you may have made. If you fail, you’ll be asked to study or practice before returning for a retake. You can retake the test the next day, but it does cost $20 for each retake.

Back to top

MOVING VIOLATIONS IN FLORIDA

Florida is pretty serious about being a responsible driver on the road. You can face some serious consequences if you have a moving traffic conviction.

  • If you receive a moving traffic conviction while you have a Learner’s License, the one year period you are required to hold your Learner’s License will be extended for one year from the date of the conviction or until you are 18 years old, whichever happens first.
  • If you receive 6 points on your driving record within a 12 month period, your driving privileges are automatically restricted to business purposes only for 12 months or until you are 18, whichever happens first. If you receive additional points during this restricted period, the restriction is extended 90 days for each additional point.
  • If you have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more (applies to those under age 21), an administrative suspension of six months will result.
  • If you are truant in your school attendance, your driving privilege is suspended until you provide proof you have attended school for 30 consecutive days.
  • If you are convicted for possession of tobacco or nicotine products (applies to those under age 18), your learner license is likely to be suspended.

Back to top

FLORIDA TLSAE IDENTITY SECURITY QUESTIONS

The state of Florida requires that Aceable verify the identity of students taking the course. We do this by asking you a series of identity security questions based on information in your Aceable Student Profile. This system is made to ensure that the person who signed up for the course is actually the one taking it.

You’ll be asked these identity security questions at various points throughout the course. If you fail a question (which we doubt you will since these questions are all about you!), we must return you to the beginning of the level and you must start over from there. Unfortunately, it’s a state requirement that we can’t get around. On the bright side, our levels are super short and you’ll make it back to where you were in no time.

Back to top

FLORIDA TLSAE COURSE TOOLS
Florida TLSAE Student Course Tools

Aceable provides a variety of student course tools that you’ll find very helpful. These tools include the student profile, table of contents, progress logs, and practice tests. You can learn about using these tools in our Account & Log In Help Knowledge Base here.

Back to top

Florida TLSAE Parent Monitoring Tools

Aceable provides parents with valuable parent monitoring tools so they can keep up with the work that their students are doing in the course. These tools include the progress log and student test scores. You can learn more about using these tools in our Account & Log In Help Knowledge Base here.

Back to top

TECHNICAL SUPPORT AND TROUBLESHOOTING

If you are experiencing technical issues with the web course or app, there are a variety of troubleshooting options available to you. For a detailed guide on troubleshooting your web course or app, check out Aceable’s Technical Support & Troubleshooting Knowledge Base here.

Back to top

CONTACT FLORIDA DMV

The Florida DMV Customer Service Center number is: 850-617-2000

You can call them Monday through Friday, 7am to 5:45pm EST.

According to their website, the DMV states that they receive high call volume between 11:30am and 2pm.  We suggest calling either early in the morning or later in the evening for a faster response time.

Be sure to provide your driver license number, Social Security number, title, or Vehicle Identification Number to the automated phone system.

If the phone system automatically hangs up on you, we suggest checking out the DHSMV Answers Portal. This is a page where you can get quick answers by simply typing in your question about the driver license process. Information on that page is provided by the Florida DMV.

Back to top

Did this answer your question?

Still Can't Find Your Answer?



Chat Us


Call Us