Click here for tips on preparing for your driving exam.
You can get your Texas license if you meet all of the following requirements:
If you meet all of these requirements, you can schedule a driving exam at your local DPS. Please note that the DPS can book up very quickly, especially during high-volume seasons like the summer and during spring break. You should schedule your driving exam as far in advance as possible. For tips on preparing for your driving exam, click here.
Once you have your driving exam scheduled, don’t forget to complete the Impact Texas Teen Driver (ITTD) program. You are required by the state to complete the ITTD no more than 90 days before your scheduled driving exam. To learn more about ITTD, click here.
When you go to the DPS, don’t forget to bring all your paperwork and documents with you. Click here to see what you need to bring with you on that day.
You must be at least 16 years old and have held your permit for at least six months to get your Texas license. Here are the essentials to bring with you:
Some schools require a waiting period between when you request the VOE and when they’ll actually issue it to you (usually 24 hours). Therefore, it’s a good idea to request the VOE from your school ahead of time (we recommend at least 3-7 days before you head to the DPS).
If you get your VOE during the last week of the school year, it is good until the start of the fall semester.
During the summer, you can head to your school district’s administrative office and have them sign your VOE form.
*If you are home-schooled, Write “Home School” or the name of your home school on the top left corner of the form and your county on the top right corner of the form.
Taking your driving test with DPS
The DPS can book up very quickly, especially during high-volume seasons like the summer and during spring break. You should schedule your driving exam as far in advance as possible.
When it asks for your Texas Driver License number, you can enter your Texas ID number or permit number. This is required in order for you to confirm your appointment.
If online scheduling is available, the office listing will include a link to “Schedule a driving test online” or “Get in line online.” If your local DPS does not offer this service, it could be a long wait, so you should call them or simply go to their office, apply for your license and they will schedule you in to come back for the driving test another day.
At the DPS, you’ll need to present your documents and come prepared to ace your vision and driving exams.
Taking your driving test with a driving school
Only a handful of driving schools are approved in the state of Texas to offer the DPS driving test. You can find those schools here.
Since DPS has recently approved some schools to offer the driving test to adults (previously, it was only for teens), please call the school to ask if they are approved to offer the test for adults yet. All of the schools on the list are approved to offer the test for teens, but all have to go through an approval process to offer the test to adults. Therefore, not every school on that list may be approved yet!
If you want to take your test with the driving school, they will charge a fee for that service.
After passing your test with the driving school, they will give you a slip of paper that contains your passing result. You will bring that slip to DPS along with all of your other required items and apply for your driver license.
If you fail the driving test, you are given three attempts to pass within 90 days before a new application fee is charged. You can go back to the DPS as early as the next day to retake the exam.
A hardship license – also known as a minor restricted driver license (MRDL) – is a Texas driver license that you can get before you’re 16 years old or without holding your permit for a minimum of 6 months. In order to obtain a hardship license, you must show proof of why you need to drive as soon as possible.
You can apply for a hardship license if you meet all of the following:
Qualifying hardships are:
*Vocational Education Programs include classes that require you to drive to a location as part of an internship or training program. For example, if you were in a health care internship class and needed to go to the hospital to learn from the nurses and doctors there, but you did not have anyone to drive you, you would meet this hardship.
If you are approved for a hardship license, it will expire on your next birthday.
To apply for a hardship license, bring all of the following to your DPS: