License Checklist

Your step-by-step guide to Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed

WHY

This is a parent taught drivers ed course, and while we’ll help you learn the rules of the road, you’ll need a real life non-robotic person to help you learn how to work the pedals. You’ll have to check with your parent instructor to make sure that they’re eligible.

IS YOUR INSTRUCTOR ELIGIBLE?

  1. Your parent instructor can actually be a: Parent, Step-parent, Foster Parent, Legal Guardian, Grandparent, or Step-grandparent. Sorry, but older siblings, aunts, uncles, etc don’t count in Texas.
  2. Your instructor must have a valid driver license which has been valid for the preceding three years and has not been suspended, revoked, or forfeited during that time.
  3. Your instructor cannot have had any convictions (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide or driving while intoxicated. That’s ever.
  4. Your instructor cannot have six or more points on their license.
  5. Your instructor cannot be disabled due to mental illness.

It is up to your potential instructor to determine their eligibility, so it’s a good idea to take the time now to have them make sure. If you do not have an eligible instructor, then have no fear, we also have a drivers ed course for you where you can take your behind the wheel training at a local driving school. Contact our Customer Experience team to get switched over.

WHY

The packet is super important. It will provide you with forms you’ll need in order to get your permit and your license. Not only that, but it’s required by the state. You cannot get your permit or license if you don’t have your packet! You also should not take the DPS Permit Test at the end of Level 1 until after you order your packet.

If you took the Level 1 test before ordering your packet, stop working on the course and order the packet ASAP. If your certificate issue date is less than 3 days after you order the packet, contact our Customer Experience heroes at support@aceable.com for an updated certificate date. Let us know the day that you ordered the packet.

HOW

You can order the PTDE program guide packet online from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). When you submit your form online, you can download the program guide packet immediately on the purchase confirmation page. Additionally, TDLR will mail or e-mail you the program guide packet depending on what you chose.

As long as you have ordered and successfully purchased the program guide packet online, you can check this step off! You do not have to physically receive it to begin our course.

If you have ordered the program guide packet and you’re still waiting for it to arrive, you can look up your information in TDLR’s system. The best place to start is by putting in your parent instructor’s email address – this will be whatever email you put down when ordering the program guide packet. If you can’t pull up any information, you’ll want to try putting in your receipt number and zip code. You can find the receipt number by going back to the TDLR receipt sent to your parent instructor’s email – this is not an email sent by Aceable! Lastly, if you can’t find your order, contact TDLR at 800-803-9202.

COST

The packet costs $20, and you can pay with a credit or debit card. This $20 goes to TDLR and not Aceable.

Once you receive your PTDE program guide packet, you can start. If you have not ordered it, go back to Step 2 to order the packet online.

The first level of the course gives you the rundown on everything driving related. It takes six hours and preps you to get behind the wheel. You’ll take the actual DPS permit test right inside our course. Once you’ve completed it, we’ll email you a certificate within 1-2 hours. Once you have it you’re ready to apply for your learner’s license! Wooooo!

HOW

You can work on the course at a rate of two hours per day. For Level 1, the breakdown is chapters 1-3 = 2 hours, chapters 4-5 = 2 hours, and chapters 6-8 = 2 hours. At the end of level 1, take your permit test and pass! Easy peasy.

You must complete the following before doing this step:

WHERE

You get your learner license at the DPS. You’ll need to bring the appropriate forms, your parent instructor, and a spot in your wallet for your new learner license!

COST

Your learner license costs $16 which is payable by cash, credit, check, or money order. This $16 is paid to the DPS, not Aceable.

WHAT TO BRING

Handy tip: get a folder and use the list below to add everything you need to it. All you need to do is bring the folder, and you’ll know you have everything you need.

  • $16 Fee

  • Proof of PTDE Program Guide Packet Purchase (only if purchased after 11/14/2016)

    This is the first page of your PTDE program guide packet and will have your name, address, date that you ordered the program guide packet, and your receipt number.

    If you’ve lost your program guide packet or are missing forms from it, you can go to TDLR’s website where you can look up your program guide packet by your parent instructor’s email OR receipt number and zip code. If you’ve tried everything and cannot find your program guide packet online, you’ll need to call TDLR for a new copy at 800-803-9202.

  • Proof of Texas Residency

    You will need to fill out the Texas Residency Affidavit which is provided by the DPS. Your instructor signs it agreeing to represent you as a Texas resident.

    Your parent instructor must bring two of the following in order to sign the form: Mortgage Statement, Utility Bill, Bank/Credit Card Statement, Deed, Report Card, W-2.

    Both documents must show your parent instructor’s name, address, be dated within 30-90 days, and come from two different sources.

  • Social Security Card

    Originals only! DPS won’t accept any copies.

  • Proof of Identity and lawful US presence or citizenship

    Valid US passport, birth certificate, or US certificate of citizenship or naturalization.

  • Verification of Enrollment Form

    Get this filled out and signed by a school administrator. It expires after 30 days!

  • Form DE-964

    This is the permit certificate we emailed to you, just print it out, and bring it with you!

  • Application for Driver License or Identification Card (DL-14A)

    Do NOT sign the ‘CERTIFICATION,’ PARENTAL AUTHORIZATION,’ or ‘WAIVER OF PARENTAL AUTHORIZATION’ sections until you are in front of the clerk at the DPS.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Under ‘APPLICATION for’ choose ‘LEARNER LICENSE’ and circle ‘C’
  • Classroom Instruction – Driver Education Affidavit (PTDE program guide)

    Do NOT sign the bottom of this form until you are in front of the clerk at the DPS. This can be found in the PTDE program guide packet. You should have one already, but if not, you can order one from the TDLR website. If your certificate issue date is less than 3 days after you ordered the packet, contact our Customer Experience Heroes at support@aceable.com for an updated certificate date. Let us know the day that you ordered the packet!

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Check off ‘6 hours of classroom instruction under the Concurrent Driver Education Program’ – the completion date can be found on the certificate we sent you under ‘Issue Date’
    • Title of TDLR-Approved PARENT TAUGHT Training Course: Aceable Drivers Ed
    • Course Number: 116
  • Classroom Instruction Log (Provided by Aceable)

    This is the classroom instruction log. You will only be filling out a portion of this form, and it should be handed back to you before you leave the DPS.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • All dates written down must be on or after the day you order your PTDE program guide packet
    • Do not fill out the date for ‘Date Classroom Instruction Completed’ since you still have more of the course to go!
    • Only fill out Level 1. You only need the first 6 hours for your permit!
    • Only two hours can be logged per day

You must complete the following before doing this step:

Now that you have your learner license, it’s time to work towards your actual driver license. There are 11 more levels, all chock full of chewy knowledge goodness. Mmmmmmm. Once you’re done, you’ll take your license exam and get a License Certificate in your email (much like your permit certificate).

FOR BEST RESULTS

You can take the rest of the course and start your behind the wheel training at the same time! This way you are building your knowledge and your behind the wheel skills at the same time.

HOW TO BREAK DOWN YOUR HOURS

To complete levels 2 through 12, make sure to only work on one level (2 hours) or half of a level (1 hour) per day. Level 8 is the exception since it is 6 hours long and can be broken down into 2 chapters per day to meet your 2 hour maximum for the day.

If you continue to work on the course at the same time as your behind the wheel practice: you can do a max of 1 hour each per day. That’s 1 hour of driving and half of a level (or 1 chapter in level 8).

If you don’t do the course at the same time as your behind the wheel practice: You can either do 2 hours of the course, or 1 hour of behind the wheel training per day.

HOW TO COMPLETE YOUR DRIVING HOURS

Check out the next two steps for an overview of how to complete your 14 hours of observation with your instructor as well as 30 hours of additional required practice.

You must complete the following before doing this step:

HOW

Essentially what you’ll do is spend 7 hours (split up into 30-60 minute chunks) observing your instructor, and 7 hours practicing with your instructor present. You’ll log the date and time for each session in the In-car Observation & Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log provided by Aceable.

If you and your instructor need a bit more guidance, you can use the Driving Manager to help guide you through these 14 hours.

This is how the driving manager works. Each level in the driving manager (after level 1) is either matched to a session on the behind-the-wheel instruction log, or is an assessment to test the skills you’ve learned so far. You can see how they match up below:

  • Level 2: Driver Preparation Pre-Drive, Starting, Operation, And Post-Drive Tasks
  • Level 3: Vehicle Movements
  • Level 4: Driver Readiness
  • Level 5 & 6: Environmental Characteristics & Risk Factors
  • Level 7: Distractions
  • Level 8: Vehicle Movements & Reference Points
  • Level 9: Assessment
  • Level 10: Adverse Conditions & Vehicle Requirements
  • Level 11: Consumer and Personal Responsibility
  • Level 12: Assessment

FOR BEST RESULTS

You can take the rest of the course (Levels 2-12) and start your behind the wheel training at the same time! This way you are building your knowledge and your behind the wheel skills at the same time.

HOW TO BREAK DOWN YOUR HOURS

If you continue to work on the course at the same time as your behind the wheel practice: you can do a max of 1 hour each, per day.

If you don’t do the course at the same time as your behind the wheel practice: You can either do 2 hours of the course, or 1 hour of behind the wheel training per day.

You must complete the following before doing this step:

WHY

These additional 30 hours are to help you get really comfortable with everything you’ve learned in the course and behind the wheel with your instructor.

HOW

These 30 hours can be done with any licensed driver. You should do 20 during the day, and 10 hours should be done at night. You’ll list these hours in the Behind-the-Wheel Practice Log provided by Aceable.

IMPORTANT NOTE

You can only do 1 hour a day, so this step must take at least 30 days. If you do more than an hour a day, it will only count as one hour.

WHAT IT IS

The Impact Texas Teen Drivers program was created by the DPS with a goal of saving lives through awareness and education. It’s not part of the Aceable course, and must be taken within 90 days of when you plan on taking your drivers test.It’s important that you don’t take this too far in advance, otherwise you’ll have to do it again.

HANDY TIP

It might be a good idea to schedule your driver’s exam first, and then take this program. It’s only 2 hours, and the best part? It’s free!

You must complete the following before doing this step:

WHEN

Ask yourself…

  1. Have you had your permit for at least 6 months?
  2. Are you at least 16 years old?
  3. Have you completed all 12 levels of Aceable and received your Certificate of Completion from us?
  4. Have you completed all 44 hours of behind the wheel practice?
  5. Have you completed the 2 hour Impact Texas Teen Drivers Program?

Did you answer yes to all of those? Then you can schedule your driving exam!

COST

Your provisional license costs $11 which is payable by cash, credit, check, or money order. This $11 is paid to the DPS, not Aceable.

WHAT TO BRING

Besides making sure your parent instructor accompanies you to the DPS, you need to also bring the following items:

  • $11 Fee

  • Your permit

  • Proof of PTDE Program Guide Packet Purchase (only if purchased after 11/14/2016)

    This is the first page of your PTDE program guide packet and will have your name, address, date that you ordered the program guide packet, and your receipt number.

    If you’ve lost your program guide packet or are missing forms from it, you can go to TDLR’s website where you can look up your program guide packet by your parent instructor’s email OR receipt number and zip code. If you’ve tried everything and cannot find your program guide packet online, you’ll need to call TDLR for a new copy at 800-803-9202.

  • ITTD program certificate of completion

    Remember, this must be done at most 90 days before your driving exam. If you have lost your certificate, log into the ITTD website and download it from there.

    If you took this and your certificate expired after 90 days, you need to retake it from the ITTD website.

  • Proof of insurance

    This is for the car you’re taking the exam in. Your name does not have to be on the insurance.

  • Current registration and inspection sticker

    This is for the car you’re taking the exam in.

  • Two license plates

    The car you’re taking the test in must have a license plate on the front and back.

  • Verification of Enrollment Form

    Get this filled out and signed by a school administrator. It expires after 30 days! If it’s summer time, check out these tips for getting your VOE.

  • Form DE-964

    This is the license certificate we emailed to you, just print it out, and bring it with you!

  • Application for Driver License or Identification Card (DL-14A)

    Do NOT sign the ‘CERTIFICATION,’ PARENTAL AUTHORIZATION,’ or ‘WAIVER OF PARENTAL AUTHORIZATION’ sections until you are in front of the clerk at the DPS.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Under ‘APPLICATION for’ choose ‘DRIVER LICENSE’
    • Questions 15/16 – Check ‘NO’ if the student does not have car insurance or registration
  • Classroom Instruction Log (Provided by Aceable)

    You should recognize the Classroom Instruction Log, you filled out Module 1 for your learner license.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • You can now fill out the date for ‘Date Classroom Instruction Completed’
    • Fill out Levels 2 – 12 – Only log 2 hours per day
    • Name of TDLR-Approved Course: Aceable Drivers Ed
    • Course Number: 116
  • In-car Observation & Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log(Provided by Aceable)

    This form is to log the 14 hours of behind the wheel instructions with your parent instructor.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Log the date and time of in-car observation and behind the wheel practice done with your parent instructor
    • Do not list more than 1 hour per day
  • Behind-the-Wheel Practice Log (Provided by Aceable)

    This form is to log the 30 hours of behind the wheel practice with any licensed adult over the age of 21.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Log the date, time, number of hours (under daytime or nighttime hours), and the signature and drivers license # of the licensed adult who observed
    • Only 1 hour can be logged per day.
    • At least 10 hours must be done at night. Nighttime hours can be done at any time between sunset and sunrise
  • Behind-the-Wheel Instruction – Driver Education Affidavit (PTDE program guide Packet)

    Do NOT sign the acknowledgement section at the bottom until you are in front of the clerk at the DPS.

    Tips for filling this form out:

    • Check off ’14 hours observation and in-car instruction – CONCURRENT with the remainder of the 32 hours of classroom instruction’
    • Behind the Wheel Completion Date: the date you finished the In-Car Observation & Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log
    • Classroom Completion Date: the Issue Date on the License Certificate

Did this answer your question?