TABLE OF CONTENTS
- INTRODUCTION TO CALIFORNIA TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL
- STEPS TO TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL
- TESTS IN THE TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL COURSE
- COMPLETION RECEIPT AND CERTIFICATE
- TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL IDENTITY SECURITY QUESTIONS
- STUDENT COURSE TOOLS
- TECHNICAL SUPPORT & TROUBLESHOOTING
INTRODUCTION TO CALIFORNIA TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL
Welcome to Aceable’s California Traffic Violator School! Skip the boring classes and expensive state fees. Instead, take care of your traffic ticket by taking our course on your computer, tablet, or phone. You can take this course if:
- You are a licensed driver who is at least sixteen years old.
- You want to mask a ticket you received and keep points off your driving record.
- You want to get an insurance discount.
You should take this course because:
- Aceable is a California state-licensed Traffic Violator School provider.
- Aceable is all about convenience. You can log into your account on our website or by downloading the free Aceable Defensive Driving app for iOS and Android devices. You can switch between devices anytime and anywhere you want.
- Aceable includes 8 hours of engaging and entertaining content written in an easy way for you to understand. Your course will include text, videos, pictures, memes, and pop-up questions galore! You won’t just be reading for 8 hours straight. There are also no timers so you’ll whip right through in no time.
- Aceable will email you a Completion Receipt after you finish the course and electronically file your Completion Certificate with the court.
- Aceable’s Customer Experience Heroes are available every day of the week to help answer your questions. You can reach us by phone, email, and live chat.
STEPS TO MASKING YOUR TICKET WITH TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL
You need to complete steps 1 through 3 before signing up for Aceable’s California Traffic Violator School.
If you accidentally take our course before completing steps 1 through 3, please contact your court. They might consider your traffic violator school valid OR they might make you retake the course. If you have to retake it, you must repurchase our course unless you did not complete it yet.
Step 1: Receive Courtesy Notice from Court
You should receive a courtesy notice by mail from your court informing you that you are eligible to take Traffic Violator School in order to mask your ticket. The notice should also include a deadline for your Traffic Violator School completion. Generally, you’ll be eligible to take Traffic Violator School if you meet the following requirements:
- You have a valid California class C non-commercial driver license. Out-of-state licenses are permitted but only with court approval.
- You were not speeding over 25 mph over the speed limit.
- Your violation is not alcohol-related.
- You have not attended traffic school within the last 18 months.
- Your violation happened in a non-commercial vehicle.
- Your offense was not a misdemeanor.
- You do not have a violation with a mandatory court appearance.
- You have paid all necessary court fees and pleaded guilty, no contest, or been convicted by your court for the violation. The conviction would result in a violation point of one to two points on your record. You can view point violations here.
If you do not meet the requirements, unfortunately we cannot report your traffic violator school completion to the court.
NOTE: You are required to comply with the court requirements by your court appearance date even if you do not receive the courtesy notice. If you haven’t received your courtesy notice at least two weeks’ prior to your court appearance date OR you have lost your courtesy notice and need one sent again, call your court and let them know.
Step 2: Plead Guilty to Violation & Elect to Enroll in Traffic Violator School
After receiving your courtesy notice granting you the option to take Traffic Violator School, you must plead guilty to your violation and elect to enroll in a state-licensed Traffic Violator School course. This can be done by going to the court on the court date listed on your citation or by notifying the court by phone or mail before that date.
Step 3: Pay Fees to Court
Depending on your court, you’ll need to pay all or some of these fees:
- Bail fee
- Administrative fee
- Traffic school fee
These fees are paid directly to your court. The money does not go to the DMV and definitely not to Aceable! Some courts allow you to pay them in installments. If they do, they will indicate so on their website or the courtesy notice.
You need to pay your court fees before enrolling in our traffic violator school.
The “traffic school fee” is not to be confused with Aceable. The cost of our course is completely separate from any fees you pay to the court.
If you have questions about payment and court fees, please contact your court to get clarification on what you need to do.
Step 4: Take Aceable Traffic Violator School
Once the court has given you permission to take Traffic Violator School and you’ve paid your court fees, purchase Aceable California Traffic Violator School and get started on the course. You can access your course on the website or on the Aceable Defensive Driving app. Please have the following documents ready when you register:
- Your courtesy notice
- Your government-issued identification
When you fill out your student profile, we will ask you for your citation number and court name. The citation number is indicated on your courtesy notice. Don’t confuse it with “case number” or “docket number”.
Make sure to complete the course by the deadline assigned by your court (the court usually gives you 90 days to complete the course and have your completion information electronically sent to them by Aceable).
If you are worried about missing your deadline, we recommend contacting your court to see if they will give you an extension. Some courts allow extensions as long as you ask them about it before your deadline.
Step 5: Receive Notice of Course Completion Reported to the Court
Aceable will file your completion information directly with your court after you complete the course and pass the final exam. You’ll receive an email with a Completion Receipt when this is done, and no further action is required on your part. Upon successful course completion, your citation and points will be hidden from your public record. It isn’t mandatory but, if you want, you can check your driver record to ensure that the points were not counted on your record.
TESTS IN THE TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL COURSE
Traffic Violator School Level Assessments
There are 9 levels in the course. At the end of Levels 2-9 are level assessments consisting of 10 questions. The questions will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 70% or better (at least 7 out of 10 questions correct) in order to pass and go on to the next level.
If you don’t pass a level assessment, you can take it again (up to three times). If you don’t pass a level assessment on your third attempt, however, you’ve failed the course. Unfortunately, the state of California requires that in these situations you repurchase the course and start from the very beginning again. Remember that you can always review the material in the levels and chapters you’ve already completed before taking a level assessment. We want to make sure you can pass your course!
Traffic Violator School Final Exam
You’ll take the Final Exam at the very end of your Traffic Violator School course. This exam consists of 25 questions, which will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 70% or better (at least 18 out of 25 questions correct) in order to pass and get your completion information filed with the court.
You have two chances to pass the Final Exam. After failing the Final Exam two times, the state requires that you repurchase and restart the course from the very beginning. Remember that you can always review the material in the course before taking the exam in order to ensure that you pass!
COMPLETION RECEIPT AND CERTIFICATE
You will not receive a hard copy or electronic Certificate of Completion. Instead, Aceable files your completion information directly with your court and you’ll receive a Completion Receipt via email notifying you of this when it’s done. No further action is required on your part. Upon successful course completion, your citation and points will be hidden from your public record. It isn’t mandatory but, if you want, you can check your driver record to ensure that the points were not counted on your record.
If you have made an error in your profile and you did not request an update before we file your information with the court, you will need to pay a $10 correction fee. Once we have updated your information, you will receive another completion receipt via email.
Traffic Violator School IDENTITY SECURITY QUESTIONS
The state of California requires that Aceable verify the identity of students taking our Traffic Violator School course. We want to be sure that the person who signed up for the course is the one actually taking it! In order to do this, we use a system that asks you identity verification questions based on the information in your Aceable Student Profile. You’ll be asked these identity security questions at various points throughout the course.
If you fail a question (which we doubt you will since these questions are all about you!), the state of California requires us to bring you back to the beginning of your current level. Unfortunately, this is a state requirement we have to follow.
TRAFFIC VIOLATOR SCHOOL STUDENT COURSE TOOLS
Aceable provides a variety of student course tools that you’ll find very helpful. These tools include the student profile, table of contents, and progress logs. You can learn about using these tools in our Account & Log In Help Knowledge Base here.
TECHNICAL SUPPORT & TROUBLESHOOTING
If you are experiencing technical issues with the web course or app, there are a variety of troubleshooting options available to you. For a detailed guide on troubleshooting your web course or app, check out Aceable’s Technical Support & Troubleshooting Knowledge Base here.